DIFE Students of the Year 2021

Drogheda Institute of Further Education 

Unfortunately, due to Covid-19 Drogheda Institute’s Graduation ceremony for 2021 was first postponed and ultimately cancelled.  The awarding of the Student of the Year prizes went ahead on Friday 10th of December 2021 in DIFE, with a small ceremony involving 33 outstanding students from the 2021 cohort.  Keynote Speakers at the event were Sadie ward Mc Dermott, Director of Further Education and Training LMETB, Deputy Major Declan Power, Chairperson of DIFE Board of Management Sharon Tolan and Drogheda Credit Union Chair Geraldine Gilsenan. Certificates and Engraved Glass Trophies were presented to the 33 nominees from a variety of courses for the overall DIFE student of the year Award Ceremony. 

Fatima Contreiras (Student of the Year: Tourism with Airline Studies and Overall Student of the Year)

Fatima Contreriras, won the overall student of the year award.  She completed a QQI Level 5 certificate in Travel and Tourism.  Fatima demonstrated resilience, enthusiasm, and positivity throughout their year in DIFE. Fatima embraced the course entirely with excellent attendance and meeting assignment deadline set by teachers and she is now completing a BA (hons) Business degree at DCU. She is very grateful for her experience at Dife and the positive impact it has had on her life. Fatima is a great ambassador for our college, and we wish her continued success in the future. 

Lea Byrne (Student of the Year: Advanced Beauty Therapy Level 6 and winner of the Kiara Duncan Perpetual Trophy)

The Kiara Duncan Perpetual Trophy was presented to Lea Byrne, the Beauty Therapy Student of the Year.  This trophy is dedicated to Kiara, a former Beauty Therapy student in DIFE, who died tragically in a road traffic accident in Australia in 2007.  Following Kiara’s passing, the Beauty Department created The Kiara Duncan Memorial Trophy in her memory and every year since it has been presented to the student who has shown outstanding commitment, enthusiasm, and willingness to embrace all the opportunities presented to them.  Lea Byrne certainly is a deserving recipient of this prestigious award. 

DIFE Principal Davy McDonnell congratulated all the students present on their achievements and wished them and the DIFE students in the class of 2021 every success in their future endeavours. Drogheda Institute of further Education would like to take this opportunity to Thank Drogheda Credit Union for their sponsorship of this event. Dife would also like to Thank Pauline Sheeran and her committee for organizing such a memorable event. 

Applications for Drogheda Institute for full time courses commencing September 2022 are currently open at www.dife.ie 


Captions are embedded in Pictures as well as listed below

01 Sarah O’Toole Byrne (Student of the Year: Hotel Catering & Hospitality Studies)

02 Lea Byrne (Student of the Year: Advanced Beauty Therapy Level 6 and winner of the Kiara Duncan Perpetual Trophy)

03 David McDonnell (Principal of DIFE), Geraldine Gilsenan (Drogheda Credit Union), Fatima Contreiras (Overall Student of the Year), Declan Power (Deputy Mayor of Drogheda)

04 Dawid Bielecki (Student of the Year: Motor Vehicle Technology)

05 Declan Power (Deputy Mayor of Drogheda), Jodie Harper (Student of the Year: Art, Craft & Design (Portfolio Preparation)

06 Declan Power (Deputy Mayor of Drogheda), Lorrainne Gallagher (Student of the Year: Pharmacy Assistant)

07 Declan Power (Deputy Mayor of Drogheda), Sandra Hincu (Student of the Year: Culinary Arts)

08 Fatima Contreiras (Student of the Year: Tourism with Airline Studies and Overall Student of the Year)

09 Jacinta McCarron (Student of the Year: Office Administration with Medical Terminology)

10 Sadie Ward McDermott (Director of Further Education & Training)

11 Adam Gavin (Student of the Year: Multimedia with Photography)

12 Sharon Tolan (Drogheda Institute of Further Education, BOM)

Scroll to Top